Mothers Day

Standard

17 years ago I came to life
17days ago I made myself a promise to myself my mom would have no more tears to wipe
Unless they’re falling on a smile
The list of ways I’m going to make her proud could spread miles
She’s been there when I needed a friend , shoulder and a role model
The maturity hiding inside me that she wanted to see will no longer be bottled
Doing the right thing isn’t as hard as I made it seem
The will I have to change is beyond extreme
After all I got it from you
I didn’t know how to ensure my name would be remembered but I found a clue
Nothing left to do but give you reasons to be proud
Nothing left to do but tear your walls of pain down
Nothing left to do but make me worth those hours of labor
Nothing left to do but turn the tables and be your savior
After all I am my mothers child
You’ll see that in due time our success will run wild

Leave a Reply

