If You Were Gone

Standard

If you were gone I’d take a vow of silence because I’d have no reason to speak
If you were gone I’d never know what to think
If you were gone, life for me would fade as well
If you were gone I’d rather be in the lowest pit of hell
But if for someone reason I’m the one to expire first then I’ll leave my love to you
And I’ll be standing there waiting as your soul floats through
I’ve never seen or felt love like this
I never knew such power could exist
But as I write this poem and as I wipe the tear that falls from my face
I carve in my chest “no one can take your place”
And as you read this and think
I hope this can be enough to make the sorrow in your heart begin to shrink.

Leave a Reply

