An End Declared

Standard

I wish she was in your place now
I’m getting tired of how sad my poems sound
I can never write a poem with a happy ending or an uplifting mood
I try to expand the rare happiness I find but you seem to be the reason it concludes
I tried not to latch onto you and I genuinely hoped it would work
Because that way when you betrayed me it wouldnt hurt
It’s sad but I couldn’t resist and I still don’t know why
I don’t know what drew me in so much
I don’t know what voided the option of giving up
Because as much as I doubt your love for me
I don’t think I’ll be the one to be able to say it’s enough
It’ll take me to snap to realize it wasn’t for me
It’ll take away the remains of my souls that you claimed but at least I’ll be free
At least I’ll be me
Not controlled by the hopes of the things my mind says you could have been
I just don’t know what it’ll take for me to actually declare and end

Leave a Reply

